top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJack Eisenzimmer

05/18/20

Hey guys, sorry I'm late uploading. Last Friday was my birthday, and to be honest I was a little distracted. That's my bad. Oh well. Today I figured I'd talk about language. This will only be a surface level chat, because I try to keep these a digestible length, but I could talk about language for hours. The major reason that Homo Sapiens prevailed over Neanderthals, Homo Erectus, and other early human species was because of our language. They could only communicate in the way animals can communicate. Alerting each other to signs of danger, food sources, and basic interaction. We developed a complex, and intricate language. We used words to describe the way things are. Inventing religion to explain natural occurrences. We used language to create factions, and government. It brought us together, and allowed us to organize ourselves into a cohesive unit. These deepened relationships that resulted from our language allowed us to outlive all other human species. That's my language lecture for the day. Now onto recommendations.

To start I'm going to go with a TV show instead of a movie. I've recently started watching Ozark. I know right finally idiot. It's so good. Bateman is incredible, and it is one of my favorite TV shows ever. For album I'm going to pick Rocky Mountain High by John Denver. His smooth ballads about the wilderness make you fall in love. For podcast episode I choose The Out Crowd. It's from the This American Life podcast, and it just won a Pulitzer Prize. Finally for book my choice is IV by Chuck Klosterman. It is a collection of articles that he has written, and the book that introduced me to him. Plus he is from Bismarck so he's somewhat of a local boy. That's it for now. Sorry this is late. Thanks for reading and I'll see you later.

29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

05/22/20

Hello everyone. I am sad to tell you that this might be my last blog. I know all six people that read this are probably tremendously sad. Oh well maybe I'll do another one next week. I'm feeling prett

05/08/20

Hello everyone. I'm back. Things are going pretty well here. I had a tough week last week when it came to motivating myself to do anything. This week though I've kind of gotten back on track. I'm doin

4/30/20

Today is going to be kind of a weird entry. It'll be political, but not like my last political rant. I've become very anti-government. I mean I understand the necessity of government, taxes, laws, etc

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page