top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJack Eisenzimmer

For Starters

Hello everyone! Well really it's probably more accurate to say hello Mr. Tichy... and Mom. My old blog, where I ranked my favorite episodes of "The Office", went kaput. So I'm starting a new one. I switched platforms over to WIX, and it is already working much smoother. I decided to scrap "The Office" ranker idea. It wasn't awful, but it also wasn't good, and I got bored of it. So instead I'm just going to spitball random ideas onto the paper, and the very few people who read this blog will get to see them. If you couldn't tell by my incredibly catchy, and artsy title it's just going to be random things that catch my interest for a few minutes every Friday when I inevitably am scrambling to write this, because I put it off for days. Today I'm going to talk about music. I've been trying to do this new thing where I listen to a new album every day. My stepdad sends me a new album every morning, and so far they've been not bad. I've heard albums from Rage Against The Machine, to The Chronic, to Aint That Good News. I also am listening to music way more often than before. I have always loved music, but my daily listening has gone from probably around an hour a day to about eight hours every day. I wake up in the morning turn it on, and have it on throughout large portions of the day till I go to sleep. Music just has so much meaning in it. I'm sure at some point in this blog I'll dig into my intricate thoughts about art, and what is and isn't art, but for now I'll just say that music is my favorite type of art. I can't sing, can't really play any instruments, but I love it anyways. My favorite band is AJR. They're sort of an Indie pop/alternative/rock band, and their music is stunning. It's party music, but somewhat toned down, and with actual meaning. There are hundreds of other artists I like, but non really compare for me.

That segways me to my next idea which is recommendations of the day. I'm stealing this idea from the Bill Simmons podcast. So every week I'll recommend a movie, book, album or artist, and a episode of a podcast. This week for movies I'm going with "Good Will Hunting". This is an early 90's movie about a 20 year old genius who has had a very tough life, and has some issues because of it. It is my favorite movie of all time. My book recommendation this week is "Where the crawdads sing". It's about a girl growing up coastal NC during the 1950's and 1960's. It was in my opinion the best book I read all year last year. For my musical choice I'm going to pick an AJR album, their latest one Neotheatre. This is start to finish my favorite album I've ever listened to. It's one where you should listen to it start to finish, and not skip around. It combines modern pop sounds with 1920's choirs, and orchestras. Finally for podcast episode I'm going to actually pick a whole show. The Ringer does a podcast called "The Hottest Take" on Spotify, and it's really fun. Basically they're five to ten minutes of the most outlandish takes you've ever heard, and they are hilarious. You can bang out a ton of them really quickly, and it's on a hiatus right now so you could catch up easily. Those are my recommendations for the week, and that's the end of the blog for the week. Thanks for reading, and I'll see you later.

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

05/22/20

Hello everyone. I am sad to tell you that this might be my last blog. I know all six people that read this are probably tremendously sad. Oh well maybe I'll do another one next week. I'm feeling prett

05/18/20

Hey guys, sorry I'm late uploading. Last Friday was my birthday, and to be honest I was a little distracted. That's my bad. Oh well. Today I figured I'd talk about language. This will only be a surfac

05/08/20

Hello everyone. I'm back. Things are going pretty well here. I had a tough week last week when it came to motivating myself to do anything. This week though I've kind of gotten back on track. I'm doin

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page